To top
27 Jun

Instafamous Hairstylists Causing Serious Hair Envy

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 2.30.10 PM
Picture it: my dimly-lit bedroom, 4am, iPhone in hand, endlessly scrolling through Instagram. Somehow I went from innocently checking in on my ex-boyfriend’s third cousin’s dog to looking up Vanessa Hudgens’ (and her boyfriend Austin Butler’s) entire glam squad.  A few screenshots and scours through her tagged photos later, I find myself on Nine Zero One’s Instagram (@ninezeroone)—one of LA’s hottest salons. Co-owners Nikki Lee and Riawna Capri are to thank for the couple’s covetable look. Now I’m ready to book a flight to LA and shell out an exorbitant amount of cash so my hair can look like Vanessa’s (or Austins!)
Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 4.11.40 PM
 We’ve all been on those Instagram journeys that bring us endless amounts of hair envy and inspiration. They may seem unproductive at the time (because I should have been sleeping) but in reality, we’re just doing some research for our next great hairstyle. Here are just a few of the amazing celebrity stylists I have come across and subsequently fallen in love with during those late-night IG searches.
 …

Nikki Lee and Riawna Capri | @nikkilee901 / @riawnacapri

 

 Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 4.22.55 PM

The Capri-Lee team is the stuff of legends; Riawna and Nikki co-own the illustrious Nine Zero One salon out in LA and founded Beauty Coach. If that’s not enough, they’ve styled everyone from Julianne Hough to Vanessa Hudgens and Selena Gomez.

Mark Townsend | @marktownsend1


Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.52.46 PM
His IG bio claims he lives out of his suitcase…so I guess the stylist to the Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Chrissy Teigen, and Kerry Washington wouldn’t mind living in my suitcase and doing my hair everywhere I go.

Rita Hazan | @ritahazan


Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.53.49 PM
Two words: Beyoncé Blonde. Rita Hazan is the woman behind Queen Bey’s iconic color and you already know how we feel about Beyoncé’s hair. 

 …

Harry Josh | @harryjoshhair


Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.55.32 PM
We trust anyone who has had Kate Hudson, Karlie Kloss, and Rose Byrne in his chair. His fun but polished looks are some of the best in Hollywood.

Ted Gibson | @tedgibson


Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.57.37 PM
I have had secret redhead dreams since seeing Debra Messing on Will & Grace…so it’s no surprise that I would fall love with Ted Gibson, her stylist! He’s also done Angelina Jolie and Lupita Nyong’o’s hair, among others. Yep, he’s that good.

Sarah Potempa | @sarahpotempa


Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.58.59 PM
Creating beautiful, beachy waves is an art form…so consider Sarah Potempa master of her craft. You know you’re in good hands when clients like Lea Michelle, Kate McKinnon, and Reese Witherspoon keep coming back.

Andy Lecompte | @andylecompte

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 2.03.07 PM
Andy Lecompte isn’t doing too bad. In fact, you might have heard of one of his returning clients: Madonna. Throw Nicole Richie and her perfect pastels into the mix and you’ve got a hairstylist with some pretty serious clout.

Kristin Ess | @kristiness


Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 2.06.17 PM
We’ve been Team LC since she was setting trends and breaking hearts on Laguna Beach. She may go by ‘Lauren Conrad’ these days but she’s still one of our favorite style icons. It’s no wonder that her hairstylist, Kristin Ess, would have such an envy-worthy Instagram. Bonus client: Halle Berry! That’s a whole lot of beauty for one salon.

Alexis Priester
No Comments

Leave a reply